Argonne National Laboratory International Programs U.S. Department of Energy

IAEA Fellowships

The IAEA Fellowship Program provides training and research opportunities in the peaceful uses of nuclear technology for scientists and engineers from developing countries.  Program participants are, or soon will be, entrusted with responsibilities important to the development of their home countries.

Since 2003, the International Program has administered the IAEA’s Fellowship Program for fellows who receive awards for training in the United States.  This work includes finding appropriate host institutions, arranging suitable study and training programs, and assisting with the issuance of visas. Since 2003, more than 340 fellowships have been carried out in the U.S.

Becoming a Host

The success of the Fellowship Program is only possible with the cooperation of colleges and universities, hospitals, private corporations and government agencies.  Institutions in the United States interested in hosting IAEA fellows should complete an Institution History Form and send it to and copy

Becoming a Fellow

IAEA application forms for fellowships and scientific visits must be submitted to the Agency through governmental channels.  Priority is given to requests associated with projects of direct benefit to the Member States.

Last Update: Oct 3, 2012

- IAEA Fellowship Program
- LinkedIn US/IAEA Fellows
- Institution History Form
- Fellowship Nomination
- Guide for Fellows
- Scientific Visit Nomination
- Guide for Scientific Visitors
- Guide to U.S. Embassies

"Being a fellow of the IAEA Fellowship program was a great chance to receive training from an eminent scientist of the USDA-ARS regarding modern phytosanitary irradiation technology. The quality and adequacy of the training facilities were excellent. I am grateful to the IAEA for providing me with a 3 month fellowship."

- Md. Aftab Hossain, Bangladesh

Fellow Profiles

- Midori Telles Alves
- Tawika Kaewchur
- Paulo Jose Cecilio
- Mohamed Azzoune
- Jose Eduardo Vaz Nascimento
- Ana Paula Vollet Cunha
- Kayode James Adedoyin
- Le Nhu Sieu
- Luz Gomez-Pando
- Godwin Okewu Omeje
- Daddy Setyawan
- Taweap Sanghangthum
- Petra Tomse
- Osama Twaiq
- Marcos Rodrigues De Carvalho
- Mara Lise Zanini
- Anchisa Kunawudhi
- Natalia Barboza Vargas
- Ahmad Saddam Moula
- Abdulfattah Ahmed
- Mohammed Salih Dawood
- Abd Hammed Bajai
- Ekaterina Mikhaylenko

Fellowship Hosts


U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map | Search